Nomination Theodora Niemeijer Prize 2016

MAY 2016 // The jury of the Theodora Niemeijer Prize 2016 has announced the names of the visual artists shortlisted for the prize. The three nominated artists are (in random order): Marieke Gelissen, Sissel Marie Tonn and the artist duo Lotte van der Woude and Rosa Johanna. The jury will announce the winner on 7 July 2016. The winner will receive a prize with a value of € 10,000 and can realise her project from end of September 2016 for a period of six months. The second and third place receive €2.500 and €1.500 respectively.

The nominees:

Marieke Gelissen
With I didn’t see it coming Marieke Gelissen wants to initiate a sculptural intervention in Het Oog in which she invites visitors to explore their physical relationship to this space. The back wall of Het Oog is transformed into a three-dimensional object: a cone. The monumental cone, about 18 meters long, will be installed vertically and will protrude above the eaves.

Sissel Marie Tonn
Intimate Earthquake Archives is a proposal by Sissel Marie Tonn in which she wants to explore the relationship between human experience and an environment undergoing change. It’s an interactive installation that allows participants to access and experience all the earthquakes recorded in Groningen – related to the gas drilling –  to date.

Lotte van der Woude and Rosa Johanna
In the project RE-USE – REFUSE Lotte van der Woude and Rosa Johanna will turn Het Oog into a site specific court room. They will examine an imaginary charge of keeping an artwork, that is currently stored within the depot of the Van Abbemuseum, out of the public eye. Why is this artwork kept ‘hidden’? The period ends with a final verdict on whether the art work deserves a public or not.

The jury of the Theodora Niemeijer Prize 2016
– Saskia Bak, director of Museum Arnhem;
– Annie Fletcher, chief curator exhibitions Van Abbemuseum;
– Isolde Hallensleben, programme maker, presentor, columnist;
– Wendelien van Oldenborgh, artist;
– Antoon Ott, board member Stichting Niemeijer Fonds.

About Theodora Niemeijer Prize
The Theodora Niemeijer Prize was introduced in 2012 because women are still a minority in exhibitions and museum collections. This year sees the third edition of the prize. It is awarded once every two years to the artist who presents the best project proposal for Het Oog (The Eye). Het Oog is an oval shaped outdoor space in the Van Abbemuseum and serves as a platform which is made available for six months to the artist who is selected. More info: Van Abbemuseum and Theodora Niemeijer Fonds.